The Anglican Communion

Anglicanism is one of the traditions of Christian faith that is described as a fellowship within the one holy, catholic and apostolic church of those duly constituted dioceses, provinces or regional churches in communion with the see of Canterbury.

The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Church is part of the Anglican Communion and is comprised of 110 dioceses in 16 nations. At the head of the Anglican Communion is the Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby. The Episcopal Church, established shortly after the American Revolution, has its roots in the Anglican Communion. When the colonies won their independence, the majority of America's Anglican clergy refused to swear allegiance to the British monarch. As a result, the Episcopal Church was formed. 

The Episcopal Diocese of San Diego

We are a diverse community of 44 congregations throughout San Diego, Riverside and Imperial Counties and Yuma, Arizona. We strive to build relationships across ideological, political and socio-economic divides as a way of responding to Jesus's call to love our neighbors. We welcome all people to experience the love of God.